Shit happens

So, since my last entry, I’ve been trying to get my projects back on track, but then fate struck me a curveball.

So one night, I couldn’t sleep. I kept running to the bathroom… and after awhile, it started to hurt. By sunrise, I needed a doctor. This state of things lasted for three days, and I later learned I had been the victim of salmonella. I kinda censored the description there, in case anyone is eating (I don’t know how to spoiler-mark things on WordPress, either), but suffice to say its gross, its painful, and its not something I would wish on even my worst enemy. Giving someone salmonella is almost worse than killing them.

For almost two whole days, sleep was impossible, and I was so weakened and delirious that all I could do with my time was watch old Huckleberry Hound cartoons on Boomerang (anything more intellectually-demanding would have to wait until I felt better).

It sucked. That’s really all I can say.

Fortunately, that was more than a week ago. I’m recovered now, but I’m not sure how I caught it in the first place–it could be something I ate, or something in the water, or maybe my sister’s kid gave me something, or who knows. So now I have to be careful what I eat. Then again, that’s something we should all do anyway.

In other news, I recently bought the original Armored Core for Playstation from a Digitpress seller, have become a Gran Turismo fan–in fact lately I’ve been nursing an obsession with racing games–and have been playing Xenogears again. So my Playstation 1 is getting a lot of love. I may post an entry about each of those games at some future point.

Anyway, I hope nobody else got sick.

2 thoughts on “Shit happens

  1. When I started reading I thought you were going to mention kidney stones. I’ve been through that but I can’t compare with salmonella because it never caught me.
    Anyway, I’m glad you’re recovered. πŸ™‚
    And if I ever get struck by salmonella then I’ll know who to email for a little help!

    • My mom suspected kidney stones at first too.

      Not really much I can offer… just, keep a jar of applesauce on hand, because if it hits, then that may be all you can eat. Also you may want to stock up on cheesy Hanna-Barbara cartoons from the 1960s to last you through the mental weakness. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

