Tiny Toon Adventures: Buster Busts Loose (SNES)

This is a landmark for me: It’s my first “Let’s Play.” It was kind of spur-of-the-moment. I was at Geo’s (aka WrathOfSeven’s) house for the weekend, he had this game, and on Friday, it kicked my ass… but then I stepped up and beat it. Then on Saturday, I recorded proof while WrathOfSeven watched. I’m not really good at doing Let’s Plays because I can’t make humorous commentary by myself, so Wrath’s presence really helped.

Without further ado, I present my Let’s Play of Tiny Toon Adventures: Buster Busts Loose, guest starring Geo (aka WrathOfSeven)!

To accompany, here’s a mini-review of the game. Buster Busts Loose really has no plot, but rather each level has its own storyline. Oddly enough you use the dash a lot in the first level but then level two’s intro talks about how you’ll need to learn “new skills” like running up walls and shit, that you’ve already been using.

The game is pretty much pick-up-and-play, and is good enough to appeal to even people who don’t like the cartoon. There were however a few control quirks. One of them (which I mention during my LP) is the Dash. To dash, you press R. Buster will keep dashing until either the Dash meter runs out or you press R again. However, it’s easy to forget to press R in the heat of the moment and instead try more natural reactions like pressing back or down, which cause you to turn around or do a slide. I often lost control of Buster or got into bad situations because of this. Admittedly, that’s probably my fault.

Buster has three attacks: the drop-kick is done by pressing Y, and Buster will leap a little into the air and lunge either left or right, depending on which one you’re holding down. If Buster jumps or slides while dashing, those are also attacks (the dash itself is not an attack though). During any of his “attack” animations, Buster is invincible, which can be used to your advantage.

There’s not much more to say, since you can judge for yourself from the video. All in all, I recommend this game to anyone who likes platformers.

Leave a Reply

