WTF is Akismet?

So I logged onto WordPress, went to my Dashboard and, I don’t know why I never saw this before but I saw it now:

“Akismet has protected your site from 15 spam comments already
There’s 1 comment in your spam queue right now”

This worries me. So some automated service I didn’t ask for is filtering comments. If any of my regular readers left a comment that didn’t get posted, then now you know why.

Personally, I’m a very do-it-yourself guy and I hate automated services, especially ones I wasn’t even informed I had. I and I alone should decide what stays and what goes. From now on I’ll be keeping an eye on my dashboard.

Leave a Reply

