He-Man Review

With how little I’ve been using this blog I often forget that placing stuff here is an option. So yesterday I posted a review of the cartoon He-Man and the Masters of the Universe at TV Tropes, then just now I woke up, facepalmed myself for overlooking the obvious and posted a slightly-longer version right here.

But actually. I kinda think the TV Tropes version is more fun to read because of how the images align on the side of the article–gives it more character. As far as I can tell there’s no way to replicate that on WordPress (if anyone knows a way, tell me!). Either way, I’m glad I got this done. I’ve been meaning to do this for months but just… it never came out right.

Liking a show like He-Man is really hard to explain to a lot of people, especially on the internet. The problem is that I, a man in his late 20s, is trying to explain subtle graces to significantly younger people–usually teenagers, and at that people who don’t understand much beyond “John K. likes Bob Clampett. Ergo John K. imitates Bob Clampett. Ergo John K. is an artist because he’s similar to another artist.” A large part of it, too, is life experience. When you’ve seen as much of life as I have, you start to realize that the cartoons of the 1980s were far truer to your feelings than cartoons of the 1990s, which often appealed to false and puerile senses that you will eventually grow out of. I mean when I was eighteen, I was just like a lot of these people are now. As I got older my perspective changed. I used to not like black and white movies, now I’m mature enough to not judge everything by its graphics. I used to hate strategy games, now I’m old enough to appreciate things that have an intellectual as well as a visceral appeal.

Incidentally I removed a lot of sections from my blog. I used to have a comic books section with a review of Preacher. I removed that because, well, screw it. I’m not a comic fan, I’m a cartoon lover and video gamer. In my younger days I used to like to present myself as omni-popcultural and able to enjoy anything, but again the pretensions of youth gave way to the practicalities of adulthood.

Still working on that gaming section.

Leave a Reply

