Like Sands in the Hourglass

Well, I decided to tone down the review since last night. It really didn’t need to be that angry.

So lately, I’ve been trying to catch up on the smash hits of the previous console generation. Metal Gear Solid went swimmingly, so next on my hit list was Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time.

I’m a sort-of fan of the original, 2D Prince of Persia games. They’re not great, but they’re not bad either. Their main problem is just that they get dull after awhile. When I first started The Sands of Time I initially thought “Wow, this is pretty awesome.” I liked the combat and the platforming was cool. Admittedly, I think its only real flaw is that its too long and the game isn’t varied enough, nor the plot interesting enough, to make up for such a length. I also dislike how long the combats go on.

However, then I ran into something that made the game unbeatable: There is a bug that can make the game unbeatable.

The bug occured on me during the baths. There’s a part where Farah is standing on a pressure plate, you push a statue into another and then run up the wall to get to a last one, opening a series of three doors that guard a switch. Now, there’s a save point right there, so I saved, did the puzzle, drained the water and was about to head onto the next platforming segment, but I got tired and just turned the game off. When I came back to it, I redid the door puzzle… except that one of the doors wouldn’t open. The one whose pressure plate Farah was on. I tried everything, even knocking her off of it, but that didn’t work either. So it seems like my only solution is to restart the game.

Seriously, things like this shouldn’t even happen in the PS2 era, and especially not with a game often called “one of the best of all time.” This just totally killed the experience for me. I’m going to have to put the game away for a bit and come back later.

Sigh.

I apologize for the negative tone my blog has taken lately. It seems like, despite being aware of the nature of blogs to become bitch-rags, I nevertheless fell into the trap myself.

It’s not like my life has been all gloom and doom either. I wound up with some extra cash from a local contest which I’m putting towards getting a copy of Earthbound (finally), and I’ve been resuming my collecting of Super Nintendo RPGs. Why Super Nintendo? Because honestly, it had the best RPGs. The worst that can be said about any SNES RPG is that a lot of them are generic, and hey, after Final Fantasy VIII I’ve grown a new appreciation for generic.

He-Man and the Masters of the Universe (the 1983 one) is getting a re-release in two sets covering the entire series. Jem and the Holograms is getting a complete series set. All the shows Shout Factory copped out on back in the day are finally getting finished by Mill Creek. My best friend had a new baby. And lately I’ve discovered the wonderful world of shooters. R-Types has been sitting in my library for like ever and is only now getting the playment it deserves.

Leave a Reply

